Happy New Blog!

Welcome to B52, the blog that’s preparing now for the coming global climate change cataclysm.

I’m not a nut-case survivalist, and I’m really not all that much of a pessimist. But I read the papers and I watch the weather, and I sure as hell saw what happened when Katrina hit New Orleans. The two lessons I learned are

  1. Climate change is here and getting worse; and
  2. Public officials are so busy with their homeland security theater that they may not be around to help us when the cataclysm hits.

I’ve decided to get my act together so I’ll be ready when global climate change turns to cataclysm. It’s going to take more than stuffing a backpack with a few bottles of water, cans of beans and one of those dreadful crinkly emergency blankets. Ever tried to sleep near somebody using one of those?

Maybe it’s going to happen slowly, like Al Gore’s frog in the boiling pot of water. Maybe it’ll be more like the sudden freeze in that Dennis Quaid/Jake Gyllenhaal movie. Either way, if the whole system comes tumbling down around our ears, we’re going to need a whole new set of skills, a better understanding of participatory politics, and it probably won’t be a bad idea to be in good shape. Remember those mimeographed President’s Physical Fitness Awards from elementary school?

As I’m doing the research and figuring out what I can do now to get ready, I thought I’d share what I’m learning on this blog. After all, the more of us who survive, well, the more of us who survive. Maybe it will turn out hell isn’t other people after all.

Then again…

Why “blog52?” I plan to post once a week, for a year. That’s it. With any luck, the big climate change cataclysm won’t hit before 2008 is over.

If you have any questions, or if you want to offer your own tips for what we can do now to prepare to survive the cataclysm, leave a comment.

4 Responses to Happy New Blog!

  1. KAT says:

    Like you, we saw what happened with Katrina and took it to heart. Los Angeles has already seen numerous disasters–there will be more. Now, of course, a few years have passed, and I think those beans are getting pretty rancid.

    And yes, I tried to sleep under one of those blankets near West Point one time. NOT what I call warm!

  2. blog52 says:

    I tried to sleep *near* someone using one once and I didn’t get an ounce of sleep, what for the crinkle-crinkle-crinkle-crinkle all night long.

    The good people at Chow.com say your dried beans will last two years if stored properly (http://www.chow.com/stories/10436), but I have a very large bag of mung beans that are still going fine after three years – or more.

    Post-cataclysm, those dried beans might take longer to cook, but at least I won’t be worried about botulism.

  3. lisabrooks says:

    Oy Vay! I think in a disaster, I just want to curl up somewhere warm and wait until either it, or I pass. I realize that is not very survivalist of me, but I am not convinced that surviving at any cost is the ticket.

  4. […] response: Hunkering down One reader’s comment got me to thinking quite a lot, so I’m going to answer her in a post. Lisa writes Oy Vay! I […]

Leave a Reply

