How to write a letter

Yesterday’s post explained how an old technology called a “pencil” can be used to help us survive the coming climate change cataclysm. In the post, I mentioned the ancient and mysterious art of “writing a letter.”

Since writing a letter is so different from “texting” or “sending an email” that I thought I’d show blog52 readers how it’s done:

If you can’t see the embedded video, click over to YouTube to watch it there.

4 Responses to How to write a letter

  1. vbonnaire says:

    Oh this is a terrif post. I’ve been thinking for some time with all that texting stuff, we need to model pencils, Waterman pens and metaphors somehow.

  2. blog52 says:

    It felt strange to sit down and write out that whole page with a pencil, rather than typing like I’m doing right now. It slowed me down and forced me to think a little more carefully about what I really wanted to communicate. Perhaps all of us writers could stand to do that a little more often.

    Thanks for the kinds words, Valentine.

  3. vbonnaire says:

    I made a post about you and a documentary I watched last night. Your larger piece on “the pencil”
    was so funny and so prescient—I also linked to you and will return, rest assured.

  4. […] does it mean to “write down?” I’ve created a video that shows an actual person writing so you can see how easy it is. It’s similar to using a stylus on your PDA. The biggest […]

Leave a Reply

