#21 Treasure your maps

I was driving with a friend the other day on the mean freeways of our unfair city when we got a little lost. Had we missed the exit? If so, which one should we take, and how could we backtrack on surface streets?

“Pull out my Thomas Guide,” I said to my friend.

He dutifully did so, then proceeded to flip through the pages at random. Finally he admitted, “I’ve never used one of these before.”

“You do know how to read a map, right?” I asked, rather surprised.

He ducked his head a little sheepishly. “The one I use talks to me.”

Oh dear, another victim of GPS technology.

1929 Rhode Island Road MapYou don’t want this to be you after the cataclysm, when you’re rowing your car down unfamiliar streets in a desperate search for food, or running from feral animal packs or marauding bands of sociopaths. By then the soft, sweet voice of your GPS system will have failed. Untended satellites will have fallen from the sky in disrepair and the energy grid that made them possible will have collapsed.

How will you survive misdirection after the cataclysm? Learn how to read a map. It’s a basic skill you don’t want to be without. What’s more, I recommend that you practice regularly. Turn off that GPS and make your way to the grocery store with only a map to guide you! Do it on foot and you could turn it into a proper cataclysm exercise.

Not only will map reading skills help you survive the coming global climate change cataclysm, you’ll be able to avoid the humiliation today of admitting to a girl that you don’t know how.

4 Responses to #21 Treasure your maps

  1. vbonnaire says:

    How True!

    Hey, blog52 — I have a green one up today, just for you! Let’s hope, let’s hope, we can shift things to a humanitarian green model before we face it? Whew. PS– today the food sec in LAT is totally GREEN! in so many ways. You are sooooo ahead of your time Blog52, did I tell you that lately? My hat is off to you. I’m wondering how many posts of your I missed in this whole mess of politics. I totally missed reading you.

  2. KAT says:

    My military father is a keen believer in map-reading skills. As a gadget freak, I know he’d love a GPS, but he’d never give up his maps! It’s really quite a conceptual skill to read one, when you think about it. I was very frustrated in Costa Rica because I couldn’t find a detailed map of the area I was in, and I had a hard time putting the landscape together. Thankfully I never had to get anywhere in a hurry!

  3. […] The quest for maps and cataclysm survival After the cataclysm, the soft, sweet voice of your GPS system will fail. To survive, you need to learn to read a map, and to practice. Listen here for more, or read tip #21: Treasure your maps. […]

  4. blog52 says:

    No kidding. I’m not the best at reading maps, but I’ve had some bad GPS experiences that make me believe in them all the more.

Leave a Reply

